Share |

Darton State College Announces NISOD Excellence Award Winners

Original Publish Date: 
August 13, 2014

Special to the Metro


ALBANY, GA – Darton State College is proud to announce that four faculty and staff members have received the Excellence in Teaching Award from the National Institute for Staff & Organizational Development (NISOD).

The 2014 winners include Frances Carr, registrar; Dr. Sarah Kuck, assistant professor of political science; Renita Luck, director of online learning; and Dr. Alan Wilson, instructor of biology.

The NISOD Excellence Award is the most coveted award among two-year colleges and is designed to recognize and honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions at their institutions. To be eligible for the award, a full-time faculty or staff member must be nominated by their peers. The nominations are then reviewed by a committee and submitted to NISOD. Since 1991, Darton State College has 116 NISOD winners.

Since its inception in 1978, NISOD has emphasized the importance of teaching and leadership excellence in institutions of higher education. NISOD Excellence Awards are given each year to two-year college employees across the country who exemplify teaching and leadership excellence.

(PHOTO CAPTIONDarton State College’s 2014 NISOD Excellence in Teaching award winners. Pictured from left to right: Frances Carr, Dr. Sarah Kuck, Renita Luck, and Dr. Alan Wilson.)